Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is a state mandated function of the Public Authority with eleven (11) members all of whom are appointed by the Public Authority Governing Body (the Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors). At least 50 percent are current or past users of personal care assistance. The Advisory Board studies, reviews, evaluates and makes recommendations to the Public Authority Governing Body, Public Authority Services Director and IHSS County Administration relative to any and all matters affecting persons receiving In-Home Supportive Services in the County, including, but not limited to, advocating on behalf of all county residents not receiving In-Home Supportive Services who require in-home attendant services to live independently in the community.

Our current members are:
Lori Andersen
Senon Hernandez
Cheryl Hewitt, President/Chair
Otilia Ioan
Beverly Lozoff
Terri Possley (Ex-Officio Member)
Dennis Schneider
Robert Stroughter, Sr.
Janie Whiteford
Tonya York

Advisory Board Minutes and Agendas are available to view from here.

If interested in attending these meetings are open to the public. The Advisory Board generally meets the third Tuesday of every month from 11:30 am to 1:30 pm at Sourcewise, 2115 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126. Exceptions to this schedule are rare but do occur so contact Public Authority Services for date and location confirmation at (408) 350-3286.

The Board of Supervisors appoints individuals as vacancies arise on the Advisory Board. If you are interested in becoming a member of the Advisory Board it is recommended that you let Public Authority Services staff know of your interest and they will assist you in the process if/when a vacancy is available. There are other stipulations for membership that are required by statute that can be provided upon request.